mosaic nashville
NEWS

August 15, 2006
new sunday conversation a·wak·en·ing
a·wak·en·ing is about people who sense God's calling on their lives, it?s about a community with dreams, it?s about a community exploring what God might want to do in and through them, it?s about rearrangement, it?s about stretching, it?s about beginning for some and growing for others. Join us over the next few months as we explore the movement of God as told in the book of Acts. Join us as Mosaic continues to open ourselves up to God and allows God to shape and change us. Join us as we experience an ACT of?a·wak·en·ing

May 23, 2006
Mosaic Sabbatical Week
Sabbaticals in today's world refer to an extended time completely away from one's normal work.
Sabbatical comes from the word Sabbath. If we look at the Biblical roots of the Sabbath, we see that it means the day of rest. But the intention was to not only rest the body and the mind, but also to refresh our souls.
Beginning May 28th after our morning worship gathering until June 4 we will have no schedule events, in hopes to rest the body, the mind, and the soul.
So prepare yourself and determine what you need to shift your thinking from the normal schedule to sabbatical. Without this mindset rearrangement, it will be difficult to achieve the goals that you've set. Take the time to get your mind and our soul ready.
And may your sabbatical week be a time of refreshment for your mind, your body and your soul. Enjoy the week and we will see you next Sunday.

Thoughts and ideas- from Your Vacation as a True Sabbatical by Jeff Cornwall Director of the Belmont University Center for Entrepreneurship Bio/Vita

March 13, 2006
threads the conversation
threads: the values from the ancient scriptures that are at the core of God's story and at the core of who Mosaic desires to be as a community of Jesus followers.
these are the essentials that are woven into all we are and all we are becoming ? both as individuals and as a whole. They shape us as followers of Jesus, defining our role in the movement of God. This is who we are. These are non-negotiables that we hold to, that we strive for. They become the rhythms that we live by.
Mission. Love. Design. Relevance. Surrender.
So, join us over the next few weeks as we explore, experience, and engage in the conversation, threads.

January 12, 2006
Community Groups Begin (check out the schedule and Join one)

Mosaic will be a church of "people", not a "place" you go to. For us, the point is not just "going to a church," but being church in our daily lives and everyday interactions with others. At mosaic, commonLIFE in Christ starts @ home and among friends.

Thus community groups gather in homes, but also in other kinds of spaces. Some groups meet in coffeehouses and some in parks. The spaces vary, but the purpose is the same: small groups of people gathering to share life, tell stories, eat meals, pray, serve and grow together in Jesus Christ.

So, join a community group and invest in others.

January 3, 2006
New Sunday Conversation "30 Days"

Morgan Spurlock, creator of the documentary, ?Super Size Me? and the Fx original series, ?30 Days?, makes this statement about his television series, ?My goal with this series is just to plant the seeds that will hopefully inspire you to seek out more information or act to make a change in your own community. So get involved, make a difference, change the world ... in the end it's up to you.?
Over the next 30 days we long to do the same, to dive into conversations about the stories of those in scripture who have placed themselves into the shoes of others, the cultures of others, the lands of others and the lives of others. Our hope is that we may be convinced to act, to seek out, to get involved, to make a change, to follow in the ways of Jesus.
So for the next 30 days join us as we live in someone else?s shoes?.In the end it?s up to you.

December 22, 2005
Christmas Worship Gathering
December 23 Christmas Worship Gathering O' Come let us adore Him Friday 7:00 PM at the Anchor 629 Third Ave South 37210 Nashville, TN This year we'll celebrate Christmas with Carols, lots of Candles and Communion.

November 10, 2005
the ride continues
the ride continues,
the word is out,
yes, we are moving.
on december 4, 2005 to
629 third avenue south in downtown n?ville

On Sunday, December 4 we will be gathering at a new location, 629 Third Avenue South in Downtown Nashville. This location is the gathering place of The Anchor Fellowship http://theanchorfellowship.com.
The Anchor Fellowship Church has graciously allowed us to lease their facilities for Sunday gatherings, a few additional community gatherings a month, storage, and band practice. We continually thank the Lord and the Anchor fFllowship for paving the way for this new location.

So, pass the word and stay tuned for more information, and continue to do life with God and others.

November 7, 2005
The Building at McGavock
It was just a few months ago when we stated we will be moving into a new location at 1525 McGavock St. for our worship gathering. We were excited and felt it was where we needed to be for the time being. However, it is time to move again, we received a notice along with other the tenants of the building stating the building must be vacated by December 31, 2005. We are not exactly sure what is gong to happen to the building but we believe it is going to become a parking lot.
So, we are on the search again, for a venue in which we can gather together, eat meals together, and do life together.
Please be in pray for a new place to do life together. We have always stated that Church is a people not a place?may our actions continue to represent our words. Pass the word and stay tuned for more information about when a move will take place.
In the mean time the people of mosaic still do life all over including a building at 1525 McGavock st. ?. See you there.

September 25, 2005
Our role in foster care
Family Matters "Potluck and special speaker Sunday, September 25th after the service" MeLisa Hovind a foster parent will share from her experience (she became a foster parent at 21 and would've started earlier but that was the age minimum), and then Sharon Zinzow will discuss the ways we can be involved in helping out foster care. We will address service projects and a future meeting date. So come to listen and eat as we discover how God could utilize the community of Mosaic within the foster care system. For more information contact Sharon at Sharon.Zinzow@state.tn.us

September 13, 2005
THE RECEPTION WEEKEND
The Reception: Saturday - September 17
7:00pm
A party to celebrate the coming together of our community
At The Virtual Factory Stage & The Garage
1525 McGavock Street Nashville, TN 37203
Live music- food -Childcare will be provided

Picnic In the Park: Sunday - September 18
11:00am
This is our weekend gathering
We will gather at Centennial Park to wrap up the reception weekend. Bring your lunch, a blanket and a Frisbee and we will provide the drinks

For more information please see www.mosaicnashville.org or call 473-6485.

July 22, 2005
The Merge
It is here, merge week and It is going to be great!
The dates of July 26th picnic in the park & July 31st, our merge Sunday are fast approaching. I am excited about the God given opportunity to do life together. I continue to be blown away by the beautiful fit of vision and values from each community of faith. Thanks to all, for the conversations, questions and prayers, GOD IS GOOD. Let our days ahead be a time for our community to being formed into the image of Christ for the sake of others.

July 26 Picnic at the Park
July 31 Merge Sunday

June 23, 2005
NEW LOCATION
SUNDAY June 26 we will be moving into a new location for our worship gathering located at 1525 McGavock St.
This is not a permanent location as of yet, but it will be our home for the next phase of our life.
Pass the word and stay tuned for more information.

June 13, 2005
**Merge Ahead**
Dear Mosaic Community,
The decision has been made and the news is out, Mosaic is about to experience a blessed expansion! Mosaic Nashville and Mosaic are coming together to further our shared mission and vision. Thanks to all for the conversations, prayers and questions, it is great doing life together Gary



Mosaic Sabbatical Week:
Sabbaticals in today's world refer to an extended time completely away from one's normal work.
Sabbatical comes from the word Sabbath. If we look at the Biblical roots of the Sabbath, we see that it means the day of rest. But the intention was to not only rest the body and the mind, but also to refresh our souls.
Beginning May 28th after our morning worship gathering until June 4 we will have no schedule events, in hopes to rest the body, the mind, and the soul.
So prepare yourself and determine what you need to shift your thinking from the normal schedule to sabbatical. Without this mindset rearrangement, it will be difficult to achieve the goals that you've set. Take the time to get your mind and our soul ready.
And may your sabbatical week be a time of refreshment for your mind, your body and your soul. Enjoy the week and we will see you next Sunday.
Thoughts and ideas from Your Vacation as a True Sabbatical Jeff Cornwall Director of the Belmont University Center for Entrepreneurship Bio/Vita

 

 

REVIEWS

Help us out with OUR REVIEWS BY SENDING US your glimpse into God, Life, and Culture.
You can do so by submitting a review of a segment of culture to reviews@mosaicnashville.org. Give us your thoughts on art, articles, books, links, movies, music, Nashville events, world events ,restaurants, quotes, or whatever. We look forward to hearing from you.

mUSIC

Radiohead :: Hail to the Thief

Radiohead's latest release is a nice blend of electronica, rock, and piano driven quasi-ballads, mixed with thought provoking lyrics (if you can make sense of them) and a touch of something that I can't quite put my finger on. Like most of Radiohead's albums, this one takes the music to a different level. The thing about Radiohead that puts them above their peers is that they redefine themselves on every album without losing that certain something that makes them Radiohead. It's hard to sum up an album like this in a few short sentences, but in short, this album somehow makes it back into my CD player every other album. Shawn rating 10 out of 10.

 

mOVIES

Crash

"Crash" was a very intricate, well written movie about life and racism in LA (although the message obviously applies to everyone, everywhere). The complex way the characters interact continually has your mind reeling as to what will happen next, or who's paths will cross with who's. It reminds us that everyone has some stereotype, some sort of thought about someone of a different color or culture, and some of these stereotypes are reinforced by behavior, some are defied. With great performances from Don Cheadle, Sandra Bullock, Ludacris, Ryan Phillippe, Jennifer Esposito, and many, many more, this film reminded me of "Magnolia" but with a strong message, and more likeable characters. Plus it's shorter. Shawn rating: 9 out of 10.

..................................................................

Return of the King

The story began in December of 2001 with the release of Fellowship of the Ring, continued in the December 2002 release of The Two Towers, and culminates in the December 2003 with the Return of the King, a movie climax that has taken two years to reach. As it turns out, it was well worth the wait. Instead of going on and on about how this concludes what is, in my opinion, the greatest and most ambitious trilogy in movie history, I'll try to stick to the RoTK. Although the movie could stand on its own, it is definitely the conclusion of a three part story and much would be meaningless to the casual observer who has decided to watch the last movie only. The special effects of the movie are stunning and are on a much grander scale than either of the prequels. The primary battle, the Battle of the Pelennor Fields, pits thousands upon thousands of bad guys against thousands of good guys in such an astounding way that you are almost out of breath during any lulls of the battle. You can feel the toil of the ring as it wears upon Sam and Frodo during the final stages of their journey. You witness Aragorn grow from a ranger into a king. The characters of the story, their struggles and their growth are not lost in the constant bombardment of mind-numbing visuals. The ending of the film has been criticized as slow and drawn out; however, it must be so to tie up the stories of so many characters over such a long period of time. The LoTR book lovers will notice many discrepancies in the movie, just as during the first two films, but a second look and careful examination will reveal that all the changes made work best for the story in this medium. This movie was an absolute joy to watch, and I hope to see it again before it leaves the theaters. My only complaint is not having another one to look forward to next Christmas. Jones rating: 10 out of 10.

..................................................................

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen

So I saw a trailer for LXG mid spring, and i was in awe. It looked like it was going to be THE movie of the summer. Ok, so maybe I was more excited about XMen 2 and The Matrix Reloaded, but I was really looking forward to LXG. Then a sad thing happened: I went to the movie. Let me start here. The story is about a group of adventurers that are called together to stop a bad guy. It takes place in 1899, which is fine, except for the fact that they have cars and subs and machine guns and other crazy things. Usually this wouldn't bother me, cause i can suspend my disbelief better than most. Still not sure why it bothered me, but coupled with poor lighting, choppy and hard to follow action sequences, and mediocre dialog, the movie was overall disappointing. I'm not saying it was terrible, just not even close to as good as I hoped. Shawn rating: 5 out of 10.

..................................................................

Adaptation

Let me start with this: Chris Cooper creeps me out. And, he was in this movie. With all that aside, this is one of the more original movies i've seen in years. It's the story of a screen writer and his twin brother. This screen writer is asked to write a screen play for a book, while his brother decides he was to write screenplays as well, and begins one of his own. The interesting twist on the movie is that what you are seeing is the script that he wrote. So...it's like the movie is being writen right in front of you. Odd? Yes. Artsy? Sure. The movie does have some questionable content, but if you're in the mood for a somewhat risky and intersting movie, give it a try. Nominated for 4 Oscars and winner of 1. Shawn rating: 8 out of 10.

..................................................................

 

cONCERTS

The Flaming Lips at Uptown Mix

i had the opportunity to see The Flaming Lips this past wednesday at the Uptown Mix. I've been to probably over 80 concerts in my life, and this was possibly one of the oddest concerts i've ever attended.

The Eels opened up, and they weren't bad. Then there was a long break in between the 2 bands, because the Flaming Lips had much setting up to do. Giant balloons bounced over the crowd the entire evening. There was video to go with every song, projected on a giant screen behind the band. And here's the really strange thing: they rounded up several audience members before the show, dressed them up in bunny, owl, fish, and other animal cosutmes. They also had Santa Clause and a guy dressed as a nun. This group of people danced the entire concert on both sides of the stage while shining flashlights on the crowd.

i loved the music. i've been listening to 'Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots' for a while now, and it is really cool. The concert included most of that album, with a few older songs, including "She don't use jelly". i think it was well worth the experience and the $5 to get in to the venue. Shawn rating 8.5 out of 10 (just cause it was so different).

 

 

Mosaic P. O. BOX 60604 Nashville, TN, 37206 :: 615-473-6485 www.mosaicnashville.org